Trowbridge Town Hall is located in the heart of Trowbridge in Market Street, opposite the pedestrian district of Fore Street. Trowbridge Town Hall is an imposing building with a magnificent clock tower.
Building commenced in 1887 to coincide with Queen Victoria’s golden jubilee and was funded by William Roger Brown a local and hugely successful mill owner. It was opened in 1889 by HRH the Duchess of Albany for “the benefit of inhabitants of the Town”.
Until 1974 the Town Hall was the centre of Trowbridge local government as well as the home of the local magistrates court. During that time it became a major venue for cultural, artistic and entertainment activities. Around 1975 following a Council re-organisation Trowbridge Town Hall became the home of the District Magistrates Court which it continued until it was converted into a Coroner’s Court, specifically for service personnel coming back from Iraq and Afghanistan via RAF Lyneham.
When Lyneham closed in 2012 the Trowbridge Town Hall Trust was formed to breathe new life into this iconic and well-loved building.